Blog Devotional Challenge! Day 1: Walk as Christ Walks

 

Hi my friends!

I have decided to challenge myself to blog my devotional everyday for the next week! I have been asked many times to blog and share more, and I truly love to share my heart and what the Holy Spirit is teaching me. I usually like to wait until the Lord lays something on my heart. But a lot of times I get too busy to actually sit down and write, so sometimes things the Lord has laid on my heart never get out because of it. So I wanted to challenge myself a little. Which in turn is good and keeps me accountable to reading the word daily! So I start today and end next Thursday. After that I want to keep going, but will keep taking it a week at a time. Feel free to follow along with me and join in the conversation too and share your thoughts!
I am going to start out with 1 John and read a chapter a day. Today I read chapter two. I read one yesterday, but I will do one tomorrow for you all πŸ™‚ But we start with two!

He who says he abides in Him ought himself also to walk just as He walked.” 1 John 2:6

Now if there ever was an extreme statement, that right there is one. To walk as Jesus walked? That is pretty intense! But Jesus was an intense guy. He did extreme and amazing things! He walked on water, healed the sick, caused the blind to see and the lame to walk, raised the dead, DIED and ROSE Himself FROM the grave and so much more!! And He is calling us to walk/live as He did. Not only did He do miracles, but He spoke boldly, cast out legions of demons and loved deeply! This man, Jesus, is one AMAZING man!

What does it mean to walk like Him?! As I came across this verse today, I was in awe at it’s statement and shocked by the thought of what it means. So if we say we live in Him, we are to walk like Him. WOW! No matter what walk of life you are in, no matter what your occupation is, no matter the calling on your life, if Jesus is your Lord and Savior we are all called to live as He lived and walk as He walked. We are called to do miracles, to speak the truth boldly, cast out demons and to love deeply. That right there is hard stuff! Sheesh! My soul yearns and cries out to do that, but my flesh wars against it so badly! With everything in me I LONG to see my prayers cause a person to raise from the dead. I LONG to see the testimony the Lord has given me, to heal hearts and break off chains! I LONG to see the impossible POSSIBLE! And the crazy thing is, I am starting to see it. Since my family and I have made the jump from the workplace to the ministry place and put our complete trust in Jesus, we have begun to see the impossible become possible. So I KNOW it can happen. It stirs things up in my heart for greater things. And you don’t have to make a jump from the workplace to the ministry place to see the impossible happen. All you have to do is give all that you do to Him for His glory and not your own! We have to start reaching out to the lost, the widowed, the orphans and make changes. You never know what you can do until you step out of that comfort zone, which is your safety net and trust that whatever you are going to do that He has you in the palm of His hand.

Now, here’s I want to know. What does “walk just as He walked” mean to you, and do you plan to do it or how are you already? Please share your thoughts πŸ™‚

Until tomorrow!

Danielle

2 Comments Add yours

  1. To walk just as he walked means that I am to Love those he has put in my life, of course my family, that is a given! but to love the unlovely that are in my sphere of influence such as my work places, it is in their eyes I am to look deeply and pull out the Love in me to soothe their tormented spirits.
    How do I do that? sometimes its in words or encouragement, sometimes I take them out for a meal, other times I give them a gift, card or cookies…It is whatever I feel the Lord laying on my heart to do and a lot of the times? I don’t want to do it or I am frustrated with their behaviors or attitudes, but Christ calls me to Love them in their unlovely state and so gently reminds me that it is his Kindness that draws men to repentance not my judgements or condemnation or avoiding them, it is giving them a drink of the real deal through my Love and my Kindness, that is how I try to walk just as he walked.
    MamaCita
    PS: Thanks Elle for doing this, I LOVE it!!!!! xoxox

    1. ellegirl15 says:

      So true Mama πŸ™‚ He definitely calls us to love on the unlovely. And you are so great at that! I love the way you model Christ’s love to others. I am so grateful to have learned such great values from you! Thank you for being an example. I love you!!

Leave a Reply

