Day 2: Walk In The Light

I guess I’m a late night writer… 😉

But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin” 1 John 1:7

Yesterday I read from chapter two that we are to walk as Christ walks. As I read chapter one I came across this verse. I thought it very fitting that I write on walking in the light since we talked about walking as He walks yesterday.

So, since we are to walk as Christ walks, walking in the light is apart of that very walk. Walking in light has to be one of the most important things. This means living in the light and not in darkness. Not in sin, not hiding things. You can hide a lot in darkness. I know. I’ve done it. I was also miserable. In living that way comes with fear of all sorts, anxiety, shame, condemnation, hatred, bitterness and much more. When you choose to walk in the light you are choosing to let go of all that baggage and live exposed… in a good way 🙂

About two years ago I was at a friend’s house and got caught up in gossip. I knew it was wrong, but didn’t make the choice to stop. The next morning I got a text from my friend confronting me about the night before. She wasn’t there and hadn’t heard what was all said, but somehow caught wind of what was talked about. It took a lot of humility to own up to my actions. I was filled with pain knowing that I had hurt one of my very good friends heart. From that moment on I made a promise to myself to try to do my best to live in the light. Even though I was caught red-handed with sharing a few lies or rumors, it honestly felt good to get caught. You may be thinking this is a weird thought, but truly to get things out in the open is far more freeing than living in darkness and lies. I thank God that day happened. From it I gained wisdom in how to treat situations like that and also to become more trustworthy.

Choosing to walk in light is so very hard, pride crushing and humbling. But I can not think of a better way to choose to walk as Christ walk. Jesus is the light. Ephesians 5:8 says:

For once you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of the light.

So not only are we choosing the walk in it, we are choosing to live in it. Jesus said “I am the way the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” We are choosing to live in truth. Light and truth are one in the same. You cannot have one without the other. And you also cannot have Jesus without the two. Why? Because if you have those and follow Him, you will in turn have life, if you give your life fully to Him. Since we follow Jesus we need to walk in the light. Let us be children of Light 🙂

Please feel free to share your heart or thoughts, let us run together after Him! I will share on Chapter 3 of 1 John tomorrow night… well actually tonight 😉

Until tomorrow… or rather, today. Hehe 🙂

Danielle ❤

One Comment Add yours

  1. Renee Lesnar says:

    Excellent post Elle, how true is it like you said to be walking in the light means to “choose” to do so! each and every day we have that opportunity, I am so thankful that each day God gives us is another day to get it right and to walk away from the situations that seem so “small” like gossip but in Gods eyes really are important, even if we can’t walk away in the moment? atleast we can choose to not give our 2cents into the conversation which is almost harder, our tongue is so small but needs so much control….again it all comes down to choice and each day I have to work at being “quiet” in some conversations, In this season I am learning to listen & not always give an opinion, because really? Opinion = Judgement which is only for the Lord to deal with, my duty is to LOVE the ones I so easily tend to “chatter” about, Thanks again for sharing your heart, I Love you!!!

    MamaCita

Leave a Reply

