Waiting…

Currently we are in a waiting season. I wrote this the other night. So for those of you who are in a similar season I’m sure you can relate and hope it touches your heart.

“It is dark outside. I can hear a soft rain hitting the window pane. I open the door to listen to the coming storm. Stepping outside I see nothing but shadows and figures of trees. I can hear the rain drops hitting each leaf. The longer I stand there the harder the rain starts to fall. I don’t move. Soon enough there comes an all out downpour of rain. I stand in the middle of it, drenched. Not sure whether to run around like an excited child in this needed rain or to be afraid of the storm. Soon the wind picks up and I go inside. Looking out my window I see nothing but darkness, but I can hear the storm as it moves in quickly. The rain keeps pouring and the wind rages on. I like storm watching but the hour it began was at such an inconvenient time. I just want it to end so I can go out and start my day. This severe storm is holding me back and looks as if it will never end. So, I dry off, find a change of clothes. Grabbing a warm cup of coffee, I sit down at the table near the window. It just keeps raining. And raining. And raining. I feel so frustrated because of all the plans I’ve made for that day. I sit there impatiently, tapping my foot on the floor, checking the clock, and gazing out into the darkness, as if my staring at it the storm will stop. Finally I give up. I go to the living room, open the window, shut all the lights off and lay on the couch and listen to the falling rain and thunder. I decide to enjoy the storm instead. I’m not sure how long I laid there for, minutes, maybe hours, when the storm decides to sub side and the rain slows to a gentle sprinkle. Excited for the rain to end I slip on my shoes open the front door and run outside to enjoy the sun that was soon to be popping through the clouds. As I am outside, the clouds drift away and it becomes lighter. The sun is not out yet, but I can see what the storm has left behind. I gaze at the lush green beauty of the grass and trees as they seem grateful for the long drink of much needed water. I am thankful and in awe of the rain.”

Remember two things. One: Stop and enjoy the storm you are in. It may be hard, but know that there is an end. That’s the great thing about seasons. They change 🙂  “My brethren count it all joy when you fall into trials of various kinds.” (James 1:2) So choose joy, choose to have a good attitude and be thankful. It will make that season far more bearable than being angry about the circumstance you are in. Two: My favorite part of a Justin Rizzo song goes “For You are God and You know what You want and You know how You’ll get it the fastest way, with the least amount of pain, Your the initiator of seasons and change” Think of it this way, maybe God brought on the storm to do something in your heart or life and it may be the fastest way to bring that change about, even though it may seem like a hindrance. There is something happening. Whether you can see it or not. Even though it’s dark and raining, when the sun comes out everything is fresh and green!

Driving. I know where I’m going, just not how to get there. All I know is where I’ve been, what I’ve passed and where I am currently. Only God knows what’s coming up next and where to turn.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dave Lesnar says:

    Elle
    You are a great writer
    Love dad

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. jamboamigos says:

    Beautiful!! Yes, trying to embrace the exact point Jesus has me in of this season. And yes at times it is very dark hard and a lot of thunder. But RAINBOWS come after storms!!! 🙂 I love you!!

Leave a Reply

