Am I Really Lazy?

20131017-233849.jpg
Here I am again. I always seem to find myself laying wide awake in my bed with thoughts tumbling through my head. I can’t help it. I’ve been like this for as long as I can remember. As soon as my day calms down and my head hits the pillow, thoughts come rushing to my mind. All kinds of thoughts. Tonight I find myself pondering on laziness.
To be completely honest with you, I feel like I am a lazy person. How can a mom of 4 under the age of 7 with one on the way think she is lazy? Plenty of reasons. One mainly is the fact that I am inconsistent. And not in raising my children but in daily life. If I do the laundry, per se, some weeks I am awesome at it and then the next week hits and I am just too lazy to even fold anything. So it sits in the baskets for days, maybe even a week or two go by before I even touch it. We will dig through the clothes to find what we want and eventually it is a mix of dirty and clean clothes. Then I just made my laundry job that much bigger. Yes I know I’m not the ONLY person to do this and maybe I need to cut myself more slack. But in reality, it hits me like a ton of bricks. I feel lazy.
I have all these desires to have a household that runs smoothly. I even made an AMAZING schedule that I am “too tired” to keep to and an AWESOME chore chart that I made for my kids… That I forget to keep them to. My kids are great at doing what I ask, but it’s inconsistent. And I don’t want to raise inconsistent children who think that life can always be “fly by the seat of your pants”. I want more structure. I feel I lack the self control to do so. Anyone else feel this way? (Feel free to raise your hand, don’t be shy… Really please. Raise your hand. I don’t want to be the only one who feels this way!)
So as I was journaling today while attempting to schedule and organize for next weeks homeschool and what not, I felt that I should look up “discipline” & “laziness” in the Bible. When I looked up laziness I was hit with a good one from proverbs.

The soul of a lazy man desires, and has nothing; But the soul of the diligent shall be made rich. (Proverbs 13:4 NKJV)

That about sums up my life. I desire so much, but I don’t follow through and I have nothing. I want to be diligent in ALL that I do. In every area. Not just one. But I do feel you can only master one area at a time. I tend to put too much on my plate and maybe that’s why I end up failing because I can’t conquer it all in one shot. And we can NOT do this on our own. We need strength from our Heavenly Father to be able to make it! The grace and strength to press through the challenges and the wantings to give up and sit down, watch tv and tune out of life because it’s just too stressful.
So here’s my game plan. I decided that to help keep me focused on my goal I am going to do 4 weeks of consistency and diligence in 4 different areas, and blog about how it’s going and my thoughts during this time. I may blog every day, every other day or maybe even just once a week. Depends on how busy this momma is. But I want to share where I am with it, how it’s going and maybe share ideas I’ve come up with to help myself be diligent.
My 4 catagories that I desire consistency and diligence in will be:                               1. Keep on schedule                                                                                                 – Wake up early (this one is tough)
– kids like schedules. They thrive on
them. So it’s not only to benefit me
but my kids also.
2. Make time to Organize & plan homeschooling
– I want to homeschool and I want to
succeed. I need to do a better job and
planning things out for it.
3. Eat healthier & stick to meal plans
-I eat pretty healthy right now. So I just
really want to drop the sugar &
coffee. Just forget about it. Plus it’s
just not good for the baby.
-No eating out because I’m too lazy to
make something. If im in a bind
MAYBE then, but not if I’m making                                                                           excuses. Stick to the meal plan made
for the week
4. Exercise 4-5 times a week
-Some form, any form of exercise. As
long as I’m pumping my blood good
once a day, I’ll feel better, be happier
and have more energy. Plus I want to
be one lean, mean, prego momma!
Yeah buddy 😉
So my goal for this is to do this for 4 weeks and focus on one of the above each week and be diligent in that area for one whole week! But when I move on to the next week I won’t stop what I started the previous week. I’ll just be adding on a new goal to work on. Starting tomorrow I will start with #1!
I would love to hear your thoughts and things you may want to work on. Feel free to join in with me on becoming diligent in your own areas of struggle! Bless you!

Elle

Like this post? Subscribe to get new postings straight to your email!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Rachel says:

    I’d love to take this challenge with you! You remind me of myself. Been working on this for 9 years and it is getting better but sometimes I revert and my routines fall to the wayside.

    I don’t consider it laziness though. For me it’s more of a lack of energy mixed with some distraction and lack of discipline. The definition of laziness is: the quality of being unwilling to work or use energy. You have the willingness and if you had the energy you’d be able to accomplish more. I think it’s impossible to be lazy and have 4+ kids. Feeding them all and getting them dressed for the day is a lot of work. Then you end up going from one mess to the next cleaning up after them all day. You make breakfast, when you finally get that cleaned up, it’s time to do lunch. And then when the day is done, you’re exhausted and you haven’t crossed one thing off your list. You feel like you accomplished nothing. But if you wrote down each thing you did that day it would be a long list. Plus your growing a baby inside you that’s taking loads of your energy. Just being a momma to those beautiful bundles is a lot of work itself. Exhaustion and laziness are 2 different things.

    You’re right though being more diligent and disciplined will give you more energy and allow you to accomplish more. I’ve been in this funk since we moved to our new house. Moving took a lot out of me. And I’ve been so exhausted lately. There was a time for rest but now I’m ready to get back to my routines, workout and eat better. This challenge sounds like a great jump start to get my energy back and into better habits. Praying He gives the grace we need to be the super mom’s we hope to be. 🙂

    1. ellegirl15 says:

      YES!!! I would LOVE for you take this with me 🙂 Thank you for your input! I think the main thing I noticed is, that it’s not laziness as much as it is inconsistency and lack of diligence. So my main goal is to gain both of those qualities. So let’s kick it in the butt girl! I feel you! Moving takes a lot out of you and it’s hard to get back into a routine. So here we come diligence & discipline! We are going to rock your world! (With God’s grace & help!) 😉 Bless you doll!

Leave a Reply

